Aldred’s Artists 3- Amy Hodkin

So it’s ‘Aldred’s Artist’s‘ day over on my blog today and I have a new artist to show you. Whilst flicking through the blogs of ‘Bloglovin‘ I found myself falling head over heels for the texture and colour this artist produced and if any of you know me, I’m a sucker for colour and texture (although I always where black.)

Amy Hodkin has such a vibrant palette which feels natural and fruity. Her line work is simplistic and elegant which is perfect for silk screening and has that ‘Jonny Hannah‘ fun feel to it. The piece which really stuck out to me was her interpretation of ‘Where the Wild Things Are‘. Using pastel colours created a calming/ childlike feel to the images and a softness to the ‘Wild Things’. She projected the sense of innocence so well, I was in absolute awe. I feel that she has got her style already down and can’t wait to see what over projects she takes on. So Let’s talk to Amy herself.

Amy Hodkin screen print

Who are you and what do you do?

Hello! My name is Amy and I love drawing and creating prints for different surfaces- fashion in particular!

What’s your background?

I currently study Printed Textiles and Surface Pattern design at Leeds College of Art. Before that I did a BTEC in Fashion and went on to complete my art foundation at my local college.

Why do you do what you do? What inspired you?

I didn’t know surface pattern was a thing until my tutor told me about it during my BTEC. I love to draw and play with colour so it’s perfect for me.

How do you work?

There is lots of drawing, painting and collaging to start with and then I move on to developing design ideas that get transferred into silkscreen printing. I think my style is quite elegant and expressive; I love using flowing lines and textural marks.

Amy Hodkin illustration

What work do you most enjoying doing?

 I quite enjoy the majority of the process! I think seeing my design successfully printed is quite nice though. It makes me realize all of the hard work didn’t go to waste.

What themes do you pursue?

 I’m very open to anything. Right now I’m working on a Nordic folktale/Where The Wild Things Are inspired project that is quite character based. But my last one was all fruit and much more expressive.

Amy Hodkin FRUIT

Who is your favourite artist or artists?

My favourite artists are Joan Miro and Alexander Calder but there are many illustrators and designers I admire too like Donna Wilson, Marimekko, Jonny Hannah, Maria Ines and Julie Verhoeven. There are lots more though! I think I could fill a book with my favourites.

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

 I can’t really pin point one situation, I find inspiration a hard topic to discuss. I suppose it can come from anywhere!

What makes you angry?

People who can’t take responsibility, selfishness and copycats.

What is your dream project?

I’d love to do something big for a festival like The Secret Garden Party or collaborating with a really cool company like Oliver Bonas or Boden.

Favourite or most inspirational place?

I really love the sea, probably because it’s so calming and chilled compared to my stressful uni workload.

Amy Hodkin Studio space

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Not everyone is going to like you so don’t waste your time trying to please the whole world.

Do you have any projects upcoming or gone that you would like to tell us about?

I’m currently designing a childrenswear collection for one of my uni modules. It’s a bit different for me; the results have been really interesting!

Tell us something about you that people don’t know about?

 Something a little random- I love The Rocky Horror Picture Show and I have a tattoo on my arm featuring one of my favourite quotes from the movie. I have quite a few tattoos and can’t wait to get lots more!

If you would like to check out anymore of Amy‘s work, please check out her Portfolio, Blog and Instagram

 

Thank you again for reading and if you would like to feature in ‘Aldred’s Artists’ please don’t hesitate to email me on nlaillustration@hotmail.co.uk or contact me on the links below.

bloglovin’     instagram       facebook       twitter

 

Leave a Reply

