Aldred’s Artists 5- Kimberley Robinson

I am humbled to announce that my fifth Aldred Artist feature is with the lovely Kimberly Robinson. Kimberley Robinson is the founder, blogger and artist of the upcoming clothing brand ‘Keep Real‘. I’ve known Kimberley for a few years now and have slowly watched her grow into the strong independent business woman she is today. From our first meeting she instantly had that fun and ambitious glow about her with such kindness and quirkiness that I just knew she would do well and be there to help others. Alongside her brand she is an inspirational wellness blogger who has inspired others. I am glad to call this lady my friend.

Who are you and what do you do?

Hi! I’m Kimberley Robinson, I’m an Artist and Wellness blogger based in Yorkshire. I’m also the founder of the upcoming clothing and goods brand Keep Real in the UK!

What’s your background?

I grew up in Sheffield so I’m bit of a Steel City girl at heart! I have a background in Counselling Therapy as my degree, and using art as a medium for mindfulness. It’s a lovely mix I think.

Why do you do what you do? What inspired you?

I think from personal experience and seeing others go through mental health problems. I wanted to mix together my passion for Illustration and being an advocate for wellness to start my brand Keep Real. I wanted to create a place that inspires wellness through what we sell, and the blog alongside that too. Folk inspire me every day with their stories.

How do you work?

In my artwork, I have a notebook of scribbles and ideas that I’d like to develop. My mediums are pen and ink in the style of dot work illustration. I’m not comfortable with colours to work with (for now!) I love black and grey work.

Mothdala

What work do you most enjoy doing?

I absolutely love working with botanical/ natural sketches. Florals, birds, leaves, the great outdoors.

What themes do you pursue?

Again, a very natural and outdoor theme. I also like to pursue themes of positivity and incorporating inspirational quotes into artwork.

Who is your favourite artist or artists?

My penultimate favourite artist is Paul Jackson, his work is incredible and the detail of his dot work is so intricate. I also love the apocalyptic painted John Martin who created religious based paintings that took years to finish. I also love tattoo artists. They truly inspire me, so people like Henbo Henning, Mitchell Allenden and Thomas Bates.

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

I think it’s hard to pick, as a lot of things inspire me! I love situations where I’m commuting and I get talking to other passengers and knowing their stories. There’s much that goes on in everyone’s little worlds and it really inspires my work and my business too.

What makes you angry?

I think a lot of the time, people that are ignorant towards mental health issues makes me so upset. Everyone has mental health, and it inspires me every day with my work and Keep Real.

What is your dream project?

Ooo tough! I’ve had some incredible opportunities already, but I would love to do some work designing for more mental health charities and non profits like ‘Young Minds’. That would be amazing!

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 22.12.18

Favourite or most inspirational place?

Yorkshire through and through. I live on the edge of everything and right next to the woods. I love walking through there.

What’s the best piece of advice you have been given?

Trust your gut. I can’t stress how brilliant this piece of advice is. If it doesn’t feel right, don’t do it. Your body always tells you things unconsciously… so listen to it!

Do you have any projects upcoming or gone that you would like to tell us about?

Well beside the launch of Keep Real at the end of July (fingers crossed!) I’m documenting the business journey with a non-profit called ‘Trusted Clothes‘. In artwork, I’m coming up with designs gradually for the band ‘Take No Offence‘. So excited to see where everything goes!

Tell us something about you that people don’t know about?

A lot of folk think I studied Art at A Level, but in fact- I just have a GCSE! So there you go!

If you want to see more of Kim and her brand Keep Real check out her blog here

Keep Real Instagram, Twitter and Facebook

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 16.06.27

Thank you again for reading and if you would like to feature in ‘Aldred’s Artists’ please don’t hesitate to email me on neverstopzine@outlook.com or contact me on the links below.

bloglovin’     instagram       facebook       twitter

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

