Aldred’s Artists 6- Jade Wylde

So it’s ‘Aldred’s Artist’s‘ day over on my blog today and I have a new artist to show you. I’ve been following this lovely lady for a few months now after reading her amazing journey through mental health and her inspiring coping methods and routines I decided to comment on one of her posts. It was with that simple comment I found you all an inspiring Graphic Designer with the amazing skills and the cleanest approach to presentation.

Jade Wylde is a newly graduate graphic designer from the UK. She creates flawless imagery and beautiful ideas/ concepts for apps which revolve around mental health, which fits perfectly with her own personal blog. Her style has an earthy natural feel to it which is simplistic and elegant. Although being digital it’s a style I could see perfectly fitted for screen printing and works so well with digital media.

I’m excited to see her upcoming projects and you should be too. I wish her all the best for the future. Now without further ado let’s talk to Jade herself.

Earth_Mock_Up

Who are you and what do you do?

Hi my name is Jade and I’ve just finished a HND in Graphic Design. I’m currently a Lifestyle and Mental Health blogger over at itsmymentalhealth.wordpress.com

What’s your background?

I studied BTEC Nat Dip Graphic Design and Photography at college and a HND in Graphic and Digital Design at University. I have had a few freelance opportunities during this time and have also created some designs for my university for free.

Why do you do what you do? What inspired you?

I actually never intended to go into graphic design; I wanted to study A-Levels and go on to become a Journalist. However due to a mix between mental health conditions and a toxic ex boyfriends I ended up taking the course that he wanted to do- graphic design. However my tutor Dee was amazing and showed me all the things you can do in graphic design, inspiring me to stick at it and eventually progress onto university.

How do you work?

I have a Macbook Pro and a desk in my room that I normally work from as its easier to use my tablet that way. I’ll usually have something on in the background; the news or some music usually as its not likely to distract me. I can work in silence but I start to talk to myself if I do and that’s really not a good look!

What work do you most enjoying doing?

I love app and web design! I don’t know coding (and failed repeatedly to teach myself on Codeacadamy) but just designing the layouts and how they should work is something I really enjoy. The same is true for editorial design, I love both writing the articles and designing the layout. Creating Photo manipulation pieces like the planets is also really fun and I love playing around in Photoshop in my spare time.

Avatar_Page_Mockup

What themes do you pursue?

I can’t say I really have a theme, I just do what I love!

Who is your favourite artist or artists?

Josiah Brooks (also known by his YouTube name Draw with Jazza) is by far my favorite artist! I love not only his art work but also his personality and he’s really inspired me to think outside of the box and try new things. Also his Photoshop brushes have been the best £3 I’ve ever spent, I use them constantly!

What makes you angry?

When people tell me I’ll never achieve anything because of my mental health conditions. I’m a big believer that with the right support, encouragement and a hell of a lot of determination you can achieve anything you want in life.

What is your dream project?

I would love to get the app that I designed and prototyped for my Final Major Project at uni actually developed and available for people to use. Within a company I would love to be an editorial or web designer, layout design is by far my strongest skill.

Favourite or most inspirational place?

I’ve not really travelled much so I can’t really answer this one. I love being by the sea though, it relaxes me and helps me to think and come up with ideas so I guess I’d have to say the seaside somewhere.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Dee once said to me that nothing in life is set. You can get up and leave anything- a job, a relationship even a place- that isn’t healthy for you. Your mental health and happiness is the most important thing and if someone or something is having a negative effect on it then you need to get rid of it. Never feel bound to something just because you’re scared of what might happen if you get rid of it. Do what you love and never let anyone tell you not to.

Do you have any projects upcoming or gone that you would like to tell us about?

As I mentioned before I’ve been working for the majority of this year on a mental health app. I’ve currently got it in a prototype format but due to lack of funds I’m unable to get it developed by a professional company. I’m looking into Crowdfunding and things like that to see if I can raise enough money to get it made. Wish me luck!

Tell us something about you that people don’t know about?

I’m a really big gamer, I love nothing better than to curl up with a coffee and shoot some bad guys or skulk around trying to figure out how to assassinate someone without being seen…

HP_Mockup

If you would like to check out anymore of Jade‘s work, please check out her PortfolioBlog and Instagram and Twitter

Thank you again for reading and if you would like to feature in ‘Aldred’s Artists’ please don’t hesitate to email me on nlaillustration@hotmail.co.uk or contact me on the links below.

bloglovin’     instagram       facebook       twitter

Leave a Reply

