Aldred’s Artists 8-Sarah Goodreau

I’m happy to announce that I have another artist to show you as part of my ‘Aldred’s Artists’ blog posts. Since joining wordpress I found a lovely artist called Sarah Goodreau.

I instantly fell in love with her dark sense of illustration and flowing shapes. Each image has a screen print quality to it and brings out her love of humour. She keeps a natural colour palette with unsaturated tones which brings a darkness to her work. Her characters are full of emotion and movement and they bring life to her artwork, whilst keeping an elegant sense of innocence.

So without anymore talk from me, let’s speak to Sarah herself 🙂

SGoodreau_JungleFloor

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Sarah Goodreau and I am an illustrator living in London.

What’s your background?

I studied illustration at the Savannah College of Art and Design. After graduating I worked as an illustrator in New York City and Amsterdam until I moved to London where I am now.

Why do you do what you do? What inspired you?

I’ve drawn since I was able to hold a pencil. I was one of those kids who got in trouble at school for drawing all over my texts books. I always knew I would attend an art college. While I was there illustration seemed to be the next logical step. I was mostly inspired by books, illustrated or not. Different worlds, images and ideas seemingly created out of thin air made me want to create.

How do you work?

I spend the morning sketching out a lot of ideas. When a certain sketch clicks with me, I’ll bring it over to the computer and create the final image in photoshop. I tend to work very fast so I can get a finished illustration done in a day.

What work do you most enjoying doing?

It always tends to change, but right now I am really enjoying creating and illustrating books.

SGoodreau_ShoutingJaguar

What themes do you pursue?

I like humor. If I can get some kind of strange joke or odd little laugh out of a final piece I will be happy.

Who is your favourite artist or artists?

This is always such a hard question, there are so many great artists and illustrators I enjoy following. I suppose my favourite artist of all time would have to be David Byrne. I think it’s great that he does so much more than just music; he writes books,  does art installations,  creates videos… lots more. He tries different things. He’s also just brilliant and funny.

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

I tend to not base work on real life. I like to rely on various things I think up.

What makes you angry?

When I forget to save my work, my programs crash, and I lose everything. Ah, it’s the worst!

What is your dream project?

Writing and illustrating my own book.

SGoodreau_FIGHTguys

Favourite or most inspirational place?

Currently I am very inspired by Mexico. Their art culture is so rich and there is a never ending supply of inspiration. My partner was born there so I have the great opportunity to visit the country often. It’s a constant  feast for the eyes and heart.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Keep learning.

Do you have any projects upcoming or gone that you would like to tell us about?

I recently worked on a pop-up book for Big Picture Publishing that was just released. It’s called the World Famous Book of Magical Numbers and it’s a cute little pop-up book about magic and numbers. I’m very happy with how it came out, the finished book looks great.

Tell us something about you that people don’t know about?

I like to have other projects to work on that isn’t just illustration. While illustration is a huge passion for me; it’s also a job and I need time away from it to unwind and recharge. In the past year I have taken up embroidery and brewing beer.

 

If you would like to check out anymore of Sarah‘s work, please check out her Portfolio, Twitter and Instagram

Thank you again for reading and if you would like to feature in ‘Aldred’s Artists’ please don’t hesitate to email me on nlaillustration@hotmail.co.uk or contact me on the links below.

bloglovin’     instagram       facebook       twitter

Leave a Reply

